Unsent Letters: Barack Obama

Dear Barack,

I’d like to thank you personally for not beating about the bush.

But answer me this. Why is that, in an age of such awe-inspiring technological advancement, people are happy to retreat into shades of grey? It should either be black or white – ambivalence and ambiguity don’t find answers, only more questions… and, while Politicians and World leaders alike dilly dally, carving out Neanderthal toys with rudimentary tools made of flint and wood, the important issues are often over-looked.

It’s the 21st Century, not the 18th. If we claim to strive for racial equality, if we can recognise that there should be parity between men and women, then why can’t we eradicate homophobia?

Let’s hope that, for civilisation’s sake, your words of honesty and assurance can start to make the world a better place.

Many thanks,

Albert Winestain.

2 thoughts on “Unsent Letters: Barack Obama

  1. The goal of eradicating homophobia may be a reasonable goal, but it’s not the highest one I know of. Frankly, I acknowledge some homophobia in myself, but I doubt I’ll live long enough to get around to working on that one, after I get to (or don’t get to) working toward 7,642 other goals.

  2. Civil rights, and stopping discrimination are actually a high priority as far as I’m concerned. It’s ridiculous to have hate and discrimination written into law. I agree, let’s all do our part to eradicate homophobia.

Leave a Reply

